5 Arizona Ignition Interlock Laws You Need to Know

If you are convicted of driving under the influence in Arizona, you may be ordered to have an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. This device requires that you breathe into it at specified intervals to prove that you are not intoxicated. Failure to do so could result in further penalties or result in your vehicle being unable to start.

5 Arizona Ignition Interlock Laws You Need to Know

Not all DUI convictions lead to the requirement of interlock installation. It is important that you understand the local laws to know what kind of consequences you may face for your conviction. Here are five Arizona ignition interlock laws you need to know:

1. Inability to Renew Vehicle Registration

Your DUI can result in more penalties besides losing your driver’s license or having to drive with restrictions. You may also lose your ability to renew your vehicle’s registration, which can impact your ability to drive.

The Arizona Motor Vehicle Department will not renew your vehicle registration if you have been ordered to use an ignition interlock device and have not been compliant. It will also prevent a title transfer until you are compliant with the order. That means that you cannot drive or even sell your car. The only way to get around this is to comply with the order to use the IID.

2. Duration of the Ignition Interlock Program

Exactly how long you will have to have an ignition interlock device on your vehicle depends on the details of your DUI case.

For a first offense, you are only required to have the device for 12 months. However, if you have a “super extreme” BAC level of .20 or higher, you will have to have the device for 18 months. Even “extreme” cases with a BAC level between .15 and .199 only have to have the device for 12 months.
For a second offense, you are still looking at only 12 months unless you have a “super extreme” case, and then you’ll be ordered to the typical 18 months.

For an aggravated DUI, you will have to have the device for at least 24 months.

3. Eligibility for Six-Month Deferral

If you are convicted of a DUI and are sentenced to getting an ignition interlock device, you will have to have it for a minimum of 12 months. However, you may be eligible to get a deferral of six months if you meet certain criteria.

To be eligible, you must:

  • Be sentenced for a first offense
  • Complete a 16-hour alcohol-education program
  • Maintain a functioning ignition interlock device for at least six months
  • Do not attempt to drive drunk
  • Submit all compliance information in a timely manner
  • You will not be eligible for this deferment if you were charged with an “extreme” DUI and had an excessive blood-alcohol content at the time of your arrest.

    4. License Revocation

    Professional DUI Breathalyzer Installation in Phoenix ArizonaThe ignition interlock device allows you to drive in some cases even if your license is revoked.

    If you are convicted of an extreme or super extreme DUI, your license will be revoked, not suspended. You can apply for a new license after the period of revocation is over and your driving record has been investigated. Until then, you may be able to drive on a restricted license with an interlock installation.

    5. Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Drivers License

    When you are ordered to use an ignition interlock on your car, you may also need to get a special ignition interlock restricted drivers license, or SIIRDL. You don’t have to get the license to be eligible for using the device, but you do need to check to see if you must have the license once you get the device. For example, you would need to have an SIIRDL if your license was revoked but not if it was suspended.

    The SIIRDL allows you to drive between the following places only:

    • Home
    • Work
    • School
    • Treatment facility
    • Office of your probation officer
    • Doctor or other healthcare professional

    Ignition Interlock Company

    You must find out if you are required to have the SIIRDL before you have your ignition interlock installed.

    It is important that you talk with your DUI lawyer to understand all your legal obligations. If you do not comply with the law, you may end up losing your driving privileges entirely.

    Find a good ignition interlock company to get the device you need to meet your legal obligations while also minimizing the impact on your quality of life. For example, Arizona Interlock offers the QuickStart ignition interlock device that looks like a drink cup so that others don’t have to know about your legal transgressions. We also provide other device types, as well.

    Call Arizona Interlock today if you have been convicted of a DUI in Phoenix or the surrounding area. Our staff understands the local laws and can ensure that you are getting the right interlock installation to comply with your sentence.

  • Published By:

    Arizona Interlock
    3104 E Camelback Road #2139
    Phoenix, AZ 85016

    Office: (602) 688-2907
    Email: service@arizonainterlock.com
    Website: arizonainterlock.com

    Share